2018 Shortlist


Click on the category to review the 2018 shortlist

Criteria covered the period September 2016 – August 2017.

* Shortlists for these categories will be determined by a survey undertaken among the chief executives of sub-FTSE 350 companies.

Broker of the Year*

The individual stockbroker who has delivered outstanding results for his or her clients. This could be in relation to M&A advice, listing and fund raising.

2018 shortlist

Cantor Fitzgerald
Cenkos Securities
N+1 Singer
Numis Securities
Zeus Capital

Chairman of the Year

Chairmen whose strategic input, advice, contacts and market knowledge have clearly improved the performance of the company that employs them. The judges will also look for exemplary corporate governance as well as strong and effective communication with shareholders.

2018 shortlist

Alan Aubrey: Ceres Power
Phil Dudderidge: Focusrite
Iain Ferguson: Stobart Group
Alan McWalter: Churchill China
John Nichols: Nichols
Peter Simmonds: CloudCall
Geoff Wilding: Victoria

Chief Executive Officer of the Year
CEOs whose leadership has generated a significant impact on the financial performance of their companies and on their share price. The judges focus will be on ‘professional’ chief executives rather than those who have founded the company and/or are significant shareholders. The latter being considered in the  ‘Entrepreneur of the Year’ category.


2018 shortlist

Stephen Bird: Vitec Group
Christopher Bogart: Burford Capital
Zillah Byng-Thorne: Future
Heejae Chae: Scapa Group
Andrew Day: Keywords Studios
Stephen Fenby: Midwich
Christian Hogg: Hutchison China MediTech
John Sutcliffe: Henry Boot
Paul Swinney: Tristel

Deal of the Year
Acquisitions or major disposals that have had a significant positive impact on the acquiring company and created value for shareholders.

2018 shortlist

Animalcare’s acquisition of Ecuphar
Horizon Discovery’s acquisition of GE Dharmacon
Michelmersh Brick’s acquisition of Carlton Main Brickworks
PPHE Hotel Group’s sale and leaseback of the Park Plaza London Waterloo hotel
Proactis’s acquisition of Perfect Commerce
Restore’s acquisition of PHS Data Solutions
SciSys’s acquisition of Annova Systems

Entrepreneur of the Year
Executive directors who have led their companies to financial and stock market success. As entrepreneurs, the judges are looking for business leaders who are ‘owners’ of their companies, either as founding shareholders or holders of significant stakes.

2018 shortlist

David Braben: Frontier Developments
Simon Cooper: On the Beach
Darrin Disley: Horizon Discovery Group
Diana Hunter: Conviviality
Eamonn O’Hare: Zegona Communications
Andrew Wass: Gear4Music
Mark Watkin Jones: Watkin Jones Group
Ory Weihs: XLMedia

Finance Director of the Year
Finance Directors who have exercised strong control over their companies’ finances. The judges look for evidence of cost control, proactive management of debt and equity funding, and the production of transparent accounts.

2018 shortlist

Andrew Branchflower: Fevertree Drinks
James Brotherton: Tyman
Liz Dixon: Tristel
Simon Fuller: McColl’s Retail Group
Terry Hart: CityFibre Infrastructure
Richard Hope: Treatt
Penny Ladkin:-Brand Future
Rakesh Sinha: PureCircle

Fintech Company of the Year

‘Fintech’ companies harness technology to improve the provision of financial services. The judges take into consideration both the innovative nature of the technology and its impact in disrupting existing practises in the sector. Fintech companies’ commercial performance is also taken into account.

2018 shortlist

First Derivatives
SafeCharge International Group
ULS Technology

Fund Manager of the Year
Fund returns over the latest year is the key criterion, while the judges will also look for strong longer term performance.

2018 Shortlist

Giles Hargreave: Marlborough UK Micro Cap Growth
Neil Hermon: Henderson Smaller Companies
Paul Mumford: TM Cavendish AIM
Dan Nickols: Old Mutual UK Smaller Companies
Harry Nimmo: Standard Life UK Smaller Companies
Mike Prentis: BlackRock Smaller Companies
James Thorne: Threadneedle UK Smaller Companies
James Zimmerman: Jupiter UK Smaller Companies

IPO of the Year
We will consider the amount of money raised, costs of float, timing, the type of company being floated, the size of company and its sector. We will also look at the valuation of the company at float and the performance of the shares since flotation – those that go to healthy but not extravagant premiums will be considered. The award will seek to acknowledge the entire professional team involved in the IPO – company, broker and adviser.

2018 shortlist

Alpha FX Group
Filta Group
Franchise Brands
K3 Capital Group
LoopUp Group
Strix Group
Warpaint London

Non-Executive Director of the Year
Non-executive directors whose expertise and contacts have opened doors to major contracts or acquisitions. They must promote the practice of good corporate governance, monitor the performance of the executive team and initiate change when necessary.

2018 shortlist

Charmaine Eggberry: Blue Prism
Katrina Hart: Miton Group
Simon Moore: Pennant International Group
Adam Reynolds: EKF Diagnostics
Julie Sneddon: Ten Entertainment Group

PR Firm of the Year*

The shortlist for this category will comprise the public relations specialists most highly rated by quoted company CEOs in a Growth Company Investor survey. In considering the shortlist, the judges will look for evidence that firms have improved their clients’ reputations, delivered creative and effective campaigns, had a positive impact on share price, and promoted meaningful and fruitful communications both with shareholders and the wider public.

2018 shortlist

Alma PR
FTI Consulting
MHP Communications
Newgate Communications
Redleaf Communications
Vigo Communications
Walbrook PR
Yellow Jersey PR

Company of the Year

The Company of the Year is the one whose all-round performance and quality most impressed the judges. Stock market returns and commercial results over both the long and short term are taken into consideration. The judges particularly look for the sustainability of excellent performance into the future as well as past achievements.

2018 shortlist

Burford Capital
Fevertree Drinks